Know a Gamecock: Devan Downey

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ve probably heard of Gamecock point guard Devan Downey. The senior from Chester, South Carolina is averaging 18.5 points per game and ranks in the top in the league in scoring. The Cousy Award finalist is on pace to finish his career as a Gamecock with over 1,500 points. Only eight players have achieved that mark in program history. Downey is majoring in African-American studies at South Carolina.

What’s your pre-game routine?

I just like to relax, watch TV. I usually cut my phone off about three hours before the game. I like to relax in my room, isolate myself and have a free mind.

Do you model your game after any particular player?

Not really any one player – just small guards. I was a big A.I. [Allen Iverson] fan growing up.

What talent would you most like to have?

I wish I had a 50 inch vertical.

What’s your most treasured possession?

My pride. I feel like I have pride and that’s what really drives me – my ability to not want to fail and do whatever it takes to see that I succeed.

What’s your greatest fear?

Dogs – I’m horrified of them. I was bitten when I was younger and that was it for me.

What’s your greatest achievement so far?

Being where I am today. Being my size and considering basketball is usually for the bigger guys – I could’ve listened to people and told myself I wasn’t good enough but instead I fought and now I am where I am today.

Name three songs on your iPod.

All Lil’ Wayne.

What’s one place you’d most like to visit before you die?

Probably Hawaii. Just being on the beach. It’s always hot too.

Name three people (dead or alive) that you’d want to meet.

President Obama, Lil’ Wayne and Jay-Z.

If you could change anything about yourself, what would it be?

I wouldn’t change anything. I like me.

1 Comment

Filed under Men's Basketball

One response to “Know a Gamecock: Devan Downey

  1. drugdawg

    You mention Pride, and that is how many whom have watched you over the years feel about you. We are very proud of you and your achievements and mannerism. What a vantastic player you have become, as well as a darn good representative for the University. Keep up the great attitude. It has been a joy to watch you on the court.

Leave a Reply

