Wounded Warrior Project & Gamecock Football

Big announcement at Coach Spurrier’s weekly press conference today – as part of a partnership between the university, the Wounded Warrior Project and Under Armour, the football team will wear specially designed uniforms with desert camo against Florida on Nov. 14. In addition, the names on the jerseys will be removed and replaced with core values of the Wounded Warrior Project – words such as “Courage” and “Service.”

The Wounded Warrior Project’s mission is to “honor and empower wounded warriors” of the U.S. Armed Forces. The organization provides aid, support and opportunities for service men and women wounded in battle.

Three honorary captains from the Wounded Warrier Project will be part of the Gamecock football team during the Florida game week. They will speak to the team Thursday and be on the sidelines when South Carolina faces the Gators.

Several of the jerseys will be auctioned on GamecocksOnline.com after the game. 100% of the proceeds will go to benefit the Wounded Warrior Project. In addition, proceeds from South Carolina/Wounded Warrior gear purchased by fans will benefit the organization. Gear is available at the South Carolina Bookstore now.

I’ll have images of the team jerseys up later this afternoon. Here’s a photo of the cleats the team will wear:

IMG_8344

18 Comments

Filed under football

18 responses to “Wounded Warrior Project & Gamecock Football

  1. Gerri

    this will be great…glad the gamecocks support such an awesome cause!!!!!

  2. Vincent Cerchione

    Will the jerseys be available for sale as well?? This is an awesome thing that the Cocks are doing, teamed with the Wounded Warrior Foundation. As an active service member that has seen many friends sent to Walter Reed, I can’t think of a better way to remember all our Soldiers, Airmen, Sailors and Marines!!!

  3. Amber Cerchione

    Can you please tell me if these jerseys we are going to be able to buy. As a proud Military wife, and Gamecock fan. I would love to have one as well as one for my husband.

  4. Freehawk

    Amber, I think he knows

  5. Suzanne Fenn

    Love it! So proud of our team for doing this!

  6. i am so very proud to call myself a Gamecock

  7. i am so very proud to be a Gamecock

  8. Jim

    USC needs to make replica jerseys available too, the auctioned ones will be pricey. This is a great idea.

  9. Joseppi

    I find it commendable that the Gamecocks would do this and think it is a great cause. I also think they’re going to need more than camo to take down the Gators!

  10. Sarah Herring

    As the mother of an army medic I think this is a great thing that Carolina is doing. God bless our soldiers and GO COCKS!!

  11. Nick

    This is a great idea. There are plenty of Gamecock fans out here in Afghanistan that would love to see this. Now if we could only get some of the jerseys out here for the guys to wear while keeping track of the game.

  12. Matt

    I’m a SC alumnus and an officer in the military. I couldn’t be happier with this cause and it make’s me very proud to call myself a Gamecock.

  13. dawn dyer

    I am not a gamecock, fan but I will be watching that game.I think more schools should do that kind of thing…. Teaching young folks about giving back.

  14. TessieLou

    My husband is from South Carolina, but I am usually a Vols fan. This weekend I’ll be for the Gamecocks! Thank you for supporting the Wounded Warrior project! Go Gamecocks!

  15. Gregg

    I just wanted to say thanks to the entire School for committing to this great project. As an Iraqi vet, I have several friends that were WIA and have benefited from the Wounded Warrior Project. Awesome!!! I am speechless. Play hard for the ones that have went before us and have sacrificed themselves.

  16. Never been a Gamecock fan………….I am now!

  17. Peggy J. Baumert

    I am so proud of you for doing this!!!!!!!!!!!! I am a supporter of Wounded Warriors. Being from Iowa I am a Hawkeye fan. Have already posted to my facebook page and knowing all of the fans in Iowa and everywhere, I know we can get all collegiate teams to do this. What a GREAT inspiration. I hope that you do not mind that others follow your lead–after all, that is the true mark of a leader–imatators–but it is for such a truly remarakable cause. Thank you for the inspiration!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  18. Maike Seymour

    As the wife of a Wounded Warrior I just wanted to say “Thank you” for donating 100% of the auction proceeds to the project. Please consider replicas of the jerseys for purchases since I am pretty sure the auction is out of our league but we would love to have one on display in our “Gamecock man cave”. Go Gamecocks!

Leave a Reply

