Know a Gamecock: Jewel May

Today’s Know a Gamecock features Gamecock women’s basketball junior Jewel May. Jewel is a psychology major from Conyers, Georgia. The 6’1 forward has started in all fifteen games for South Carolina this season.

What’s a talent you would most like to have?

I would love to be able to take off and fly. You wouldn’t have to sit in traffic or stop at red lights. I hate red lights. They give me anxiety.

What’s your most treasured possession?

I would have to say my family or the love of my peers – something intangible.

What’s your greatest fear?

Rejection. [Editor: Why’s that?] Because it hurts your feelings! When you get picked last or you’re the last kid on the playground, that hurts.

What’s your greatest achievement so far?

So far, I’d say being a student-athlete in college. Being successful in high school and now I’m here on a bigger playground and I’m still making it. We’ll see what happens later.

What’s one place you’d like to visit?

Fiji. Val’s [Nainima] from Fiji and I want to see where she’s from. Not the tourist part – but real Fiji.

What’s one thing you wish you could change about yourself?

That I could slow down. I rush a lot when it’s not necessary and it makes me all excited and hyped up. Sometimes if I just chilled out a bit, life might be a little easier. It’s on the court and off the court. I do everything fast.

What’s your dream job?

Either a sports psychologist or a school psychologist. I’d like to work with either athletes or children. When I came here, I wanted to do education to work with kids, but I took a sports psych class my freshman year and I just thought it was the greatest thing.

What are three songs on your iPod right now?

(Click for YouTube links)

Melanie Fiona – It Kills Me

K’Jon – I’ll Never Forget

Monica – One

Name three people you’d like to meet.

Oprah – because she saves lives.

Lisa Leslie would be a cool one because she’s done it all. But I do get coached by one of her contemporaries so I guess that wouldn’t be a big deal.

President Obama – I’m sure he probably has a lot of good stuff to say.

You’re stranded on a deserted island. What are three things you must have with you?

Cheesecake. Would I have reception on my cell phone? [Editor: Sure, why not?] Then I’d say my cell phone so I could call the helicopter to come get me. You know, because I have the number for the helicopter saved in my phone. And a friend.

What’s your pre-game routine or something you have to do for every game?

During the national anthem, I always say a prayer because that helps me focus. That’s what I really pray for – focus. I always have to wear pink shoe strings too.

What’s your idea of the perfect meal?

Cheesecake, cheesecake on the side with some cheesecake drizzled on there. I really do like seafood though and lamb chops. So if I could have some lamb chops, some lobster and cheesecake, I wouldn’t care what kind of drink, I’d be really happy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Know a Gamecock

Leave a Reply

