Know a Gamecock: Austin Steed

Today’s Know a Gamecock features men’s basketball junior Austin Steed. A 6’8, 235-pound forward from Hephzibah, Georgia, Austin is averaging just over 16 min per game. He averages 3.5 points and 3.5 rebounds per contest. He posted a season-high 10 points against Auburn on Saturday in the Gamecocks’ SEC opener. Austin is majoring in retail at South Carolina.

Which talent would you most like to have?

I’d like to be able to jump a little higher.

What’s your most treasured possession?

I’d have to say my faith. It brought me through a lot of things growing up – coming to college and becoming a man of God. Definitely my faith.

What’s your greatest fear?

I don’t really have a fear. I haven’t run across anything that really scares me.

What’s your greatest achievement so far?

Winning the SEC East Championship last season.

What’s one place you’d like to visit before you die?

Austria. Don’t really have a reason – I just want to go.

Name three people you’d like to meet.

President Obama and Gabrielle Union. [Editor’s Note – Austin couldn’t think of a third, so we let him off the hook on this question.]

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

I don’t really want to change myself. I enjoy how I am right now.

Who is your dream date?

Gabrielle Union. Or Venus Williams.

You’re stranded on a deserted island. What are three things you have to have with you?

Definitely some type of food, my cell phone and my Bible.

What is your dream job?

I want to own my own business someday. I’m searching for what that would be, but I want my own business.

What’s your idea of a perfect meal?

Nice steak (medium well), baked potato and a salad.

Who is an NBA player you follow or model your game after?

Tayshaun Prince [Detroit Pistons].

[Editor’s Note – see below for some highlights of Prince]


Leave a comment

Filed under Know a Gamecock

Leave a Reply

