Know a Gamecock: Charenee Stephens

Sophomore Charenee Stephens comes to the Gamecocks from Decatur, Georgia. The 6’1 forward is averaging 9 points and 7.5 rebounds per game for South Carolina. Her career high in points is 20, which she recorded in South Carolina’s win over No. 23 San Diego State this season.

What’s a talent that you’d most like to have?

Teleport. If that’s a talent – maybe more like a power. I want to be places faster than normal.

What’s your most treasured possession?

My moped. It makes me mobile.

What’s your greatest fear?

Failure. I’ve been taught to be a winner and my biggest fear is failing and I don’t like it or the way it makes me feel.

What’s your greatest achievement so far?

Graduating high school and getting a full scholarship to college.

What’s the last song you heard?

A Trey Songz song.

What’s the last book you read?

Dear John by Nicholas Sparks. It was really good. They’re actually making it into a movie.

[Editor’s note – for those non-book readers out there, here’s the trailer to the movie:}


Who are three people (dead or alive) that you’d like to meet?

Oprah, Maury, Sheryl Swoopes.

What is your dream job?

Anesthesiologist – it’s the profession I want to go into. I know a couple people who have gone into that field and they said it’s good.

Do you have a particular pre-game routine?

I always wait to the last minute to get dressed. We listen to music and I think I’m the always the last person to put my clothes on. I like to keep it that way.

What’s one place you’d like to visit before you die?

France.

Do you have a personal motto?

“The will to win isn’t nearly as important as the will to prepare to win.”

What’s your idea of a perfect meal?

Right now, I’d probably want some spaghetti.

1 Comment

Filed under women's basketball

One response to “Know a Gamecock: Charenee Stephens

  1. GAMECOCKBOY

    so proud that u r a GAMECOCK!!!I See your future here being very good….keep up the good work…

    GOOO CHARNEE!!! GOOO COCKS!!!

Leave a Reply

